1 LI (Land Impact) Mesh [AUTODESK MAYA]

Milton Soup

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2948 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone!

Lately I have been noticing many designers & content creators on SL selling mesh items of all kinds (e.g. furniture, clothes, hair etc) using up only 1 land impact. And because the item is 1 land impact or maybe a little bit more, some of these designers are able to display the items in their stores without any worry of going over their land prim limits. Plus customers seem to appreciate this because of the low-lag if they end up purchasing the product such as furniture to be placed in one's home. I myself have tried creating few things ranging anywhere from furniture to shoes (yes i have seen 1 L.I. highly-detailed shoes before) however I end up with a high land impact amount when it comes to uploading. I use Maya and yes I am a pretty economical modeler when it comes to polygons but I just can't figure out how to get my mesh items appear 1 LI or just a bit over on SL. Few of my friends have given me suggestions but they heaven't seemed to help me out at all. One of my friends have suggested to play around with the LOD numbers within the SL mesh upload window however whenever I do that my mesh items look either like strings or triangles when I have the Object's LOD set to mid or low. I usually test my mesh objects in different Object LOD settings so I don't end up with complaints from customers who are most likely playing SL on basic computers and just can't use the high object LOD setting at all. On the other hand when I applied this same LOD test on 1 LI items made by other designers, their objects appeared crisp on all settings with some still appearing crisp in the lowest LOD setting. I just can't seem to figure out how they are able to achieve this. Also I have another friend who uses blender and she was telling me that they have a third-party plug-in ava