Jump to content
  • 0

Anyone know how to avoid 'Avatar tracking' please?


Mal54
 Share

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2622 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Maddy's policy is one way, but there's another.  If you really don't want people to know you are online, then you will have to be someone else.  Go back through the signup process again and create another user account and avatar.  This is your alternate account, or "alt".  

Use your alt to log in when you don't want your friends to know that you're here.  NOTE:  Do NOT tell anyone about your alt.  Don't use that account to visit any of your regular places or contact any of your friends.  If you do, it won't be long before you'll have to create another alt, because people will know both your identities.

Now, if you mean that someone is able to know your location, as well as simply whether or not you are on line, it's another matter.  Most often, this is done by intelligent guesswork.  Your tracker knows your usual hangouts, and once he sees you're online, he teleports around to them and looks to see if you are there.  You can't do anything about this except to go places you don't usually go.  However, if you use a third party viewer and have RLV enabled, and have given control permissions to someone, they CAN track your location.  And do other things, like force teleport you.  To stop this, disable RLV in your Preferences, then re-log.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2622 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...