Mesh & Marvelous Designer Issues

Teanna Kytori

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3643 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

ive been playing with marvolus designer for hours trying to figure it out.

i cant!

problem 1: i dont see any tutorials that tell you about adding a design on top of the texture. so ive been trying to find a way to get the object in photoshop so i can paint on a design. if i put on a texture inside marvelous designer, it will tile across the whole item. if you dont knoww hat im talking about, its like tring to put a smiley face on the middle of a shirt without tiling smilet faces all over.

problem 2: i dont know how to upload a mesh that comes from Marvelous designer. SL dosent take OBJ files & i dont see any tutorials to help you upload mesh items or that tell you how to save a file as a file that SL will upload.

im new at it! trying to figure it out

Well, you have to apply that texture onto the clothings UV map, which is the meshes all unfolded into a 2D image. You don't have to texture it in MD tho. You can export that obj, and then import that OBJ into Blender. From there you can texture it, and then rig it to the SL avatar if you need to.

I don't actually use MD, but I have done all the rest for creators that do use MD.

I don't use MD either but from board posts here I do understand that there are many issues using it. Sorry, but true.  And as was said you need to import the obj file into Blender or another 3D program so that you can texture and weight paint. So LOTS in the creation stream.  Little by little is the key and you might want to look into making clothes directly in Blender or other 3D programs if you have them. That seems to be what the pros hint at :D.   Good luck. Try looking up AVASTAR and see if that helps some.