I'm New To Second Life (Kinda)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3655 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Well i played a long time ago and remember some stuff still . I decided to play this but i would like some questions answered if nobody minds .

1. Whats avatar shapes ? I was looking through the avatar mall and saw ( Under Avatar Appearance ) Avatar shapes .

2. How big is the game client and what are the requrements ?

3. Is the game even compatible with windows 8 ?

4.How to stop the game from lagging ? (If it laggs )

5. Can you make your own room and will it requre payment ?

6. How do you earn " L " ?

Welcome back to SL.

1. Whats avatar shapes ? I was looking through the avatar mall and saw ( Under Avatar Appearance ) Avatar shapes .

You wear them to make your avatars body shaped a certain way.  You can buy them or make them yourself.  Shape plus a skin governs what your avatar is going to look like.

T
he size of the client, called viewers in SL, depends on the one you choose to run.  There is the official one but there are also a number of
Firestorm is the most popular viewer in SL but you should try a few to see which one you like best and runs the best on your machine. 

3. Is the game even compatible with windows 8 ?

Yes

Some lag in very crowded places or on poorly designed regions is unavoidable.  However how much lag you experience will depend on how good your machine is, your graphics card and your internet connection.

There are no rooms like in IMVU.  However you can buy land ranging from a small parcel to an entire private island (aka sim, or region)  their is a monthly fee which is your proportionate share of the server costs and overhead for running the sim

By getting a job in SL or by creating things or providing a service to sell to other residents.