Suffering from "The Blurries"

Jeanette Mavendorf

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3775 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Greetings all :)

I don't know if anyone else has noticed, or suffered, from this affliction but recently whenever logging inworld, I notice that part of my avi looks blurry, somewhat out-of-focus, while the rest of me looks absolutely fine.  Rebaking doesn't seem to do anything any more, so I'm stuck having to relog which may. or may not, solve the problem.  Even if I log in with my avi completely intact, all I need to do is change a part of my outfit (pants, socks, tattoo layer, jacket, etc.) and I end up with "The Blurries" again.  Sure, it goes away when I remove that layer, but does that mean I can no longer wear that outfit anymore?  I'm not a computer expert so I have no idea if the trouble is on LL's end, or Firestorm's.  I get so frustrated at having to constantly relog because my face, or torso, or legs are now completely blurry after changing one clothes layer on my outfit.  any thoughts, advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Sincerely,

Jeanette

If you're on a mac, then its probably texture memory being limited to half of what it should be - bad default settings for SL on Macs.

If not, consider some combination of MeshMaxConcurrentRequests, TextureFetchConcurrency, HTTP Textures, Texture Thrashing, or texture compression settings.

I've covered this on my blog, and something in this article might be the issue:

http://catnapkitty.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/meshmaxconcurrentrequests-texturefetchconcurrency-http-textures-texture-thrashing-and-why-isnt-my-stuff-rezzing-yet/

Pussycat Catnap wrote:

If you're on a mac, then its probably texture memory being limited to half of what it should be - bad default settings for SL on Macs.