Running SL on a Mac

friscolives

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3828 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been running SL on my various Macs for nearly six years. I've had very few problems (beyond those that vex us all), though I suspect my frame rates are lower than they'd be if I ran SL under windows on my Macs (which you can do via BootCamp if you have a copy of Windows). LL support for the Mac lags that for Windows.

If you are considering purchase of a Mac with the intent of running SL, make sure you get one with a discrete graphics processor, not just the Intel integrated GPU. The only portable computer Apple offers with discrete graphics is the 15" MacBook Pro, which is a beautiful and expensive machine. The entry level 21" iMac has Intel graphics, but all other models have nVIDIA GPUs. And finally, the upcoming Mac Pro has a pair of whizzy ATI GPUs, but probably won't be able to harness both of them for SL. The Mac Mini also uses Intel integrated graphics.

My current main Mac is a 27" iMac with nVIDIA GTX 680MX GPU. I get 20-30 FPS on my home sim with nearly everything turned on (50-70 if I turn off advanced lighting). I've never seen the 100+ FPS rates that Windows users using the same GPU have claimed.

I run SL on a late-year 2011 iMac (after they redid the internal specs).

Works great. Every few patches something slows down for a bit and right now it seems like the viewer is in a slow down phase. But usually its great.

If you have multiple monitors, and use the OSX feature to have multiple screens per monitor... sometimes SL can lose track of itself. When this happens I lose the ability to turn or move with the keyboard (mouse still works) until I switch to another screen and back.

I have bootcamp installed as well - and get about the same results in either OS (except for that movement freeze thing).