Land Advice / Help

UberSkills

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3800 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi guys

I really want to "own" my own bit of land. Im looking at a 1024 bit of land to buy. Im new to SL and i understand that you have to pay a fee each month if you buy land outright. I dont mind about paying the monthly fee charges but what i would like to know is ...

If i get a month membership just to get the premium access to buy the land i want will i then own the land permanantly or after the month premium membership is up will i lose the land ?

Any help would be very appreciated.

If you buy mainland, you will own it as long as you pay the monthly fee and keep your premium membership up to date.  Premium membership also has a re-occurring fee that you pay monthly, quarterly, annually etc.  If you go premium the annual membership is the best deal if you are going to own land.  It works out, after you figure the benefits of your first 512 of land tier free and the 300L a week stipend, to be almost free.

One word of caution: if you fail to pay your tier or premium fee you have a grace period but eventually if you haven't paid by the end of the grace period your account will be suspended and you won't be able to log in to SL until you pay all money owed.  If your account is suspended there is no guarantee your inventory can be restored when your account is and you can also lose your land.  To avoid this be sure to abandon the land and downgrade to basic membership well before the due dates if you can't pay.

Could swear I read this exact same question a week ago...

Ok, so you have three purchases to make for this:

1. Premium

2. A plot of land

3. Tier for any land ore than 512m (or 560m if land belongs to a group).

You can pay the premium fee monthly, quarterly, or annually. Discounted for the second two option.