llSetKeyframedMotion - griefing?

Paul Hexem

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3915 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So, we've been getting griefer reports at the sims where I'm a manager. People are getting pushed by prims that they can't see, and that aren't showing up in collision scripts or in the viewer's pushes/bumps.

The speculation is that they're using a megaprim bigger than draw distance, and llSetKeyframedMotion. Any thoughts on this?

My take on it would be:

Report the incidents, let LL investigate to determine how the griefing is being accomplished and let them take whatever steps is required to stop it.

I can think of two other techniques that might give the same results as you describe. However, I wouldn't share them in a public forum since I'd feel I'd be making some griefer's job easier. Discussion of security exploits, loopholes and workarounds (whether griefer based, copy bot oriented or account threatening) are best left for the Jira imo.

LepreKhaun wrote:

Report the incidents, let LL investigate to determine how the griefing is being accomplished and let them take whatever steps is required to stop it.

The problem is, we've been doing that for weeks, simply reporting it. This is not an isolated incident. In one case, the person is bypassing the estate ban and coming back to use the same trick on our renters again.

At this point we suspect the AR's are going to get us nowhere, and like everything else, we have to start monitoring it ourselves (which we do for other specific script functions and griefer tools). Thus this thread.

That would be a laggy and ineffective way (sensors have a limited range) of trying to do something you can do better using estate management tools already available in the viewer.