Own Avatar Shape from SL to MAYA2013?

koto Nizna

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3674 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi! First of all im very new in working with mesh so please bear with me ;) I have a noob question. How can you export your own avatar shape, skeleton and all the needed files to be able to work on creating rigged items to Maya? I've been searching for tutorials about this but unfortunately i can't find one.  I've heared about the new_architype.xml but i dont know the work around or how do you actually use the .xml file.  I hope someone could help me about this. Thanks in advance!

With the Firestorm / Phoenix Viewer it is very simple to get your current avatar mesh out of secondlife.

(Edit: ) get this Phoenix viewer version: Phoenix Viewer 1.5.2.1185 Windows

• Make sure you can see the “Advanced” menu at the top of your screen.(firestorm has it on by default)
  • Select “Character” and then “Meshes and Morphs…”
  • Under the ”Meshes and Morphs…” menu select ”lowerBodyMesh”
  • Then select “lowerBodyMesh” again and then “Current Mesh”.
  • Select “Save OBJ”.
  • Repeat this process for your upperBodyMesh and your headMesh.

Now return to Maya and start a new scene, and import the 3 bodyparts. They should be placed in the right orientation and location to another in the scene.

• To get a working Armature (the Bone set / Rigging set) importer for Maya you can use Wiz's Maya Plugins http://wiz-bg.blogspot.dk/p/slav-maya.html (but the free version is limited to the default avatar) .
  • Here is how it's being used : 

Wiz Daxter's plugin is making use of the archetype.xml file - which will answer this question too I hope.