Oh Dear

Robert703 Trafalgar

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4232 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have had a gaming PC for two years.  So thought I would check out second life again after playing World of Warcraft.

Thoroughly disappointed.  Still as slow as ever if not worse.  I have an MSC in Computer Science and I can't believe its still bad at loading regions.

Unless LL do something to sort this out I suspect that in a couple of years time Second Life will be no more.

That prediction of SL being "no more" has been floating around for 7 years that I'm aware of.........it's still here.  On the disappointment you are experiencing about performance on SL compared to performance on WoW.....there is a world (pun intended) of difference in how the content of the two are delivered to your computer.  On one (WoW) the entire world is housed on your hard drive.  On the other (SL) the entire world is housed on remote servers.  Your computer degree should tell why that makes a huge difference..........go back to your study notes and I think you might come up with some answers.

I complain often enough about LL and SL problems, but here's the thing, if I actually knew how to fix them, I would be off starting a new company and doing just that.  The free market dictates that if it can actually be done better, someone will, and they will make a handsome profit doing so.

(Yes, yes, regulation breaks the free market in oh so many ways, but SL is small and niche enough that a viable competing platform could emerge if in fact someone genuinely figures out how to do it better at comparable cost.)

If you are convinced it can be done better, do it.  Make yourself a small fortune.  GIve me a viable alternative to SL and I will migrate. 

"...

If you are convinced it can be done better, do it.  Make yourself a small fortune.  GIve me a viable alternative to SL and I will migrate."