animation timing with muliple key stroke

Helm Anton

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4361 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi im kinda new to scripting.  i have made a melee script and it works well.  The next step is to get the animations to stop playing with every key stroke.  What im trying to do is get an animation to play out fully before another is triggered.  IE; left = attack L, but i dont want attackL to fire every time left key is hit until attack L has finnished playing out.  I have tried with event times and this helps a little but it delays the attck for that time before the animation starts, this allows say attack R to play abit behind the key stroke and attack L gets abit more play time before attack R over rides it and visa versa.

would i use a counter; ? for the timing of X amount of keystorkes against the animation play time (0.36 seconds?)..

any help would be great.

At first I thought about using llSleep() but that's probably not a good idea because your melee script is likely to be doing other stuff while the animation is playing.

So how about using an integer switch and a timer, something like this:

float min_interval = 0.36;integer active;default{	//.......................//	control(key id, integer held, integer change) {		integer pressed = held & change;	// integer down = held & ~change; // integer released = ~held & change; // integer inactive = ~held & ~change;		if (active == FALSE){			active = TRUE;			if (pressed & CONTROL_LEFT){				llStartAnimation("my animation");			}			else if (pressed & CONTROL_RIGHT){				llStartAnimation(("my other animation");			}			llSetTimerEvent(min_interval);		}	}	timer()	{		llSetTimerEvent(0.0);		active = FALSE;	}}

ETA

A voice from beyond has pointed out that you don't really need a timer event.   You can simply put something like 

if (llGetTime() < min_interval){ return; }	llResetTime();	//-- rest of the action