Can't login

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3704 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

39+ people viewed, yet no replies??? So nobody has a clue as to why I cannot login? I'm sure it's not gonna hurt to take time out of second life, to answer my question in first life.... If it's a simple thing like the server is down then by all means please tell me... I'm not trying to sound rude...

God knows I'm no techie, but I can ask some obvious questions.

I'll assume that your log-in information is correct, or you wouldn't have been able to log in here.

What viewer are you using? Have you updated it? There have been a number of changes to these over the past few years, and some (such as Kirsten's and Phoenix) have been deprecated.

Are you using wireless?

You're sure that the app isn't being held up by a firewall?

I think that the more detail you can provide, the better chance that someone who does know what they are talking about can help.

I downloaded Second Life, what in the world is a "viewer"???

As for my firewall that's not the issue, internet connection is also not an issue, PC is not an issue, as I've ran other games with better graphics at blazing speeds...

It's just telling me login in has failed...

-- I'm wireless but I don't see how that matters, as I'm really close to my router

It sounds like it is timing you out because it is taking a long time to make the connection with one of the servers at Linden Lab.

Second Life isn't like other games. There is much more information to transmit between the servers at Linden Lab and your computer. 

I don't have a gaming computer. I am in the UK, miles away from Linden Lab in San Francisco, and I'm not experiencing the same issue as you - why is that? 

A "viewer" is the "client"; the thing that you access Second Life the main world with.