...Alienware M17X - Graphics Card 1.5GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M not compatible.

Regina Marksman

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4681 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

HELP!!  Ive been saving my pennies for two years.. to get an Alienware laptop.. I finally ordered it.. with the highest graphics card available.. biggest processor... waited 6 weeks for it to arrive.. which it did last night.. I was sooo excited.. first thing downloaded second life.. and logged in to a message that said my graphics card wasnt compatible.. but it would probably be okay..... Its not..:(  the grapics default as low as possible.. and runs sluggish.. blurry... omg.. I don't know what to do???  I am a photographer in SL and wanted a computer that would allow me to use shadows for photos.. but with this.. i can barely type.. let alone take a picture..

Calling out to all technical type people.. please help.... can you offer any advice ???? 

Specs:

Intel Core i7 2820QM 2.3 GHz (3.4GHz Turbo Mode, 8MB Cache)

1.5GB GDDR5 Nvidia GeForce GTX 460M

8GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1333MHz (4DIMMS)

320GB 7,200 RPM SATA-II HDD

10 answers to this question

Thanks Cinn

I did go into sl and set the graphics up higher and it slowed down to a snails pace... and still didnt look very clear.. :( I guess this is what i get for going for the latest and greatest... I thought Linden Labs would be up for the best... I guess not.. and i shot myself in the foot.. dang it!

ps (love your signature.. hehe

Regina Marksman wrote:

I did go into sl and set the graphics up higher and it slowed down to a snails pace... and still didnt look very clear..
:(
  I guess this is what i get for going for the latest and greatest... I thought Linden Labs would be up for the best... I guess not.. and i shot myself in the foot.. dang it!