An avatar has done the supposed impossible - returned my objects to me from my own land.

Frankie Rockett

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4285 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hi All

An avatar has done the supposed impossible - returned my objects to me from my own land. In less technical terms, done extensive damage to my sim. Now let me try to cover all bases here:

I have been in SL for 6 or 7 years. I'm a very experienced builder and scripter and I've been around the block. This shouldn't be possible, and yet there you have it. It is happening. It's as if some people have got hold of a login for God mode. Whatever the details might be, a major breach of security seems to be going on here. Note banning them from my land seems unlikely to help since they can just as easily return objects from the other side of the boundary - if indeed they are susceptible to ban settings at all.

Can anyone offer a remedy or at the very least any plausible explanation?

Thank you.

4 answers to this question

I have heard some rumors of an exploit that allows this, or at least allows someone who has no rez permissions to litter a parcel with prims.  I'm sorry, I have no remedy to offer you other than to AR the person.  You may also wish to open a JIRA issue on this.  I suggest using the Security category, if it's available to ordinary residents.

There are definitely rogue viewers around that can spoof or mimic or access the Linden god-mode and do things that "can't" seem to be done under the regular group land rules. I've continously seen exploits involving overriding both group rules and land settings to place grief objects and to inject the owner's own name into the ban list without having the group powers for that.

I haven't seen this return exploit, but I do want to suggest some alternative explanations: