Is this computer capable of running Second Life at high graphic detail?

okti4

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4351 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I want to play Second Life at the high graphics setting with texture and lighting, atmospheric effects and the works. As a college student, I also need a laptop to take to different classes around campus. I am only choosing between these three laptops as I can get a student discount on them, which one do you think will work best and why?

CHOICE #1

Sony 15" laptop

CPU: AMD A8-3520M (1.6 Ghz, quad core)

GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6620g 

RAM: 6 GB

Resolution: 1366 * 768

|||

CHOICE #2

Lenovo 15" laptop

CPU: Intel Core i3-2310m (2.1 Ghz, dual core)

GPU: nVidia GeForce GT 520m

RAM: 4 GB

|||

Dell 15" laptop

CPU: Intel Core i3-2330m (2.2 Ghz, dual core)

GPU: Intel HD Graphics 3000

RAM: 3 GB

I have a fast fibre optic network to use from the school computer lab or dormitories so internet speed is not an issue. Which of these three computers will have faster and better looking graphics? 

Hi,

None of the above will run SL too very well as all main processors and grapic cards are too light. Perhaps in low settings...

At least an i5 with a decent graphics card specially for the latest SL viewers which need monster specifications.

What is really needed to get speed is a graphics card with at least a 256 memory bus, even for older V1 based SL viewers. That would start with the nvidia 580, The 560 has 192 but i don't know if the price is too different. 128 graphics bus is a no no... way to slow, 64 is a real showstop (as you see graphics memory more that 512 is irrelevant for SL, a wide graphics memory bus is).

AMD/ATI has never been very fond of SL btw, do choose Intel and Nvidia since SL works best on those.

Ask the seller what graphics memory bus it has. Really really really important and a world of difference.