Trying to learn how to make unrigged mesh attachments... Help please?

Annie Melson

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4460 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a clothing designer that makes my own sculpted attachments. I currently use Jass-Pub-2.3.8 to make my sculpted parts. I am wanting to learn how to make mesh, but I do not want them rigged. I'm not a fan of full rigged mesh clothing as it is right now, but I am very intrigued about creating mesh parts to add to the system clothing I make.

I have a lot of questions and would love any tips, tutorials, information. Can I use Jass-Pub-2.3.8 to make mesh attachments? How do I make unrigged mesh pieces? How can I add pieces, such as buttons, snaps, string, etc? How do I texture the mesh? Do I texture it in the program or is that added inworld like sculpties? Any help would be so appreciated! I'm really excited about this and can't wait to learn! :)

Mesh is definitely viable as attachments - I am currently creating various footwear meshes (for my own use for now) which are designed purely as attachments, either to the AV feet or lower leg.

However, don't write-off rigged mesh clothing - there is a third-party development in the pipeline which will hopefully result in mesh clothing being able to fit most (if not all) AV body shapes - Qarl's Parametric Deformation project (if I remember it's name correctly). At the very least, keep an eye on its developments (rigged meshes in general). Also, I've seen some very nice examples lately of well designed rigged mesh clothing (even if it can't be made to fit customised AV shapes), which is proof that rigged mesh clothing is a viable option.

I say this often, and I will say it again here - Mesh is a BIG subject (but nothing to be scared of!). I would strongly suggest the following steps: