Tips for a newbie?

Jesus1254789

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4488 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hello im new to second life amd i was wondering if you have any tips on how I can fully enjoy this virtual world. I would like to have some tips on how to build,script, get a job(no stripping,modeling, any thing out of the rated G area, etc.) change my avatar, and anything else that might be helpful. I really appreciate it videos and guides would be nice but i would also like to here your own tips from your experiences. Thank you very much! :)

BTW here are some questions i have:

1. does second life allow ppl that only play in the G rated area to have jobs or own land and if so how do i own land and get a job

2. best ways to make money

Welcome to SL and the forum!  As with all new residents, you may have many questions.  My personal suggestion is that you take a bit of time to explore and look around first.  There are many video learning tools you can see if you check your Dashboard web page (look for video tutorials midway down the right column on your Dashboard).  There are also many questions that have already been asked in the Answers forum (look above at the tabs here on the far left for Answers).

There are many free classes on building, scripting, and making things like clothing.  Just search in classifieds for 'Building classes', etc.

Yes, you can own or rent G-rated land and work on a G-rated sim.  Look in the Commerce forum under Wanted for some listed jobs.  Spending some time exploring may give you a better idea what you might wish to do in SL.  You are not limited to doing just one thing, though.

Everyone wants to make money, of course!  Some do it by making things and selling them.  Others, have a skill they use to make money.  Many buy Lindens via the Exchange (also on your Dashboard) as that is often the quickest way to get money to spend inworld.