Need a little help with scripting

Lumychan

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4509 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone.

I'm fairly new to second life and just started building stuff and descovering scripting.

This is what I'm currently working on, and I need help with a few things.

project.png

It's steampunk-ish and I got puffs of smoke to come out of the pipe. But I wasnted to do some mroe things and don't know how:

1. I wanted to make the cogs turn, but have no idea how to do so

2. Wanted to make both the cog movement as well as the smoke start/stop when touching the object

Bonus question (:D): Should I add sound to this?

Thank you very much for the help and hope I managed to post this in the correct forum...

Touch on-off needs a global 'on' flag that toggles each time someone touches the thing.  Sound is easy as long as you put the effect in the object's contents.  Rotation is a BIG subject but I recommend you start by looking at llTargetOmega()

integer On;default{	touch_end(integer HowMany){		if(On = !On){			// <--- Put your smoke llParticleSystem() instruction here			// <--- Start continuous-play using llLoopSound()			// <--- llTargetOmega() for rotation		}else{			llParticleSystem([]);			llStopSound();			llTargetOmega(ZERO_VECTOR, 0.0, 0.0);		}	}}

Once you've figured-out llTargetOmega() you can get more creative using llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast([PRIM_OMEGA, ...]).  Note that Omega is for apparent rotation only - it looks good but is only a visual effect, not 'really' moving the prims at all.  llSetRot() and other functions do that job but the relative rotations of the world, root and child-prims all make it a little bit of a mind-bender.  Start with omega or you'll go mad, MAD I say, muhahahahaaa!