Thank You's

Perrie Juran

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4650 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

A few recent incidents have caused me to think about this so I thought I'd post this here in making friends.

In RL, I am an amateur photographer and I am rarely with out my camera.  I have been working to learn the 'art,' learning about lighting, composition, etc, all the things that work together to make a great picture.  I don't take 'snapshots,' I take 'photographs.'

Sometimes when I am out and about friends or acquaintances will ask me to take their picture which I am more than happy to do, and I will send them what I take.  Most of the time I will get an e mail back thanking me.  But sometimes the response is silence.  So after a few days I will send a simple e mail, "Did you get the pictures I sent you?"  Generally this will result in an apology for not replying and a thank you. 

That little phrase, those two little words when put together, may be one of the most powerful things you can ever say.  It is really for me all the payment I ask for what I do as a photographer.  While I do derive personal pleasure from taking photographs, it is the thing that makes all the effort I have put into learning my art worth it.

So in closing I want to say two things.  No matter how busy you may be, no matter how important you may think you are, take the time to say thank you. It costs so little and pays so much.  Thank you my friends.

Do it now
            by Berton Braley

If with pleasure you are viewing
    any work a man is doing,
    If you like him or you love him,
    tell him now;
    Don't withhold your approbation
    till the parson makes oration
    And he lies with snowy lilies on his brow;
    No matter how you shout it
    he won't really care about it;
    He won't know how many teardrops you have shed;
    If you think some praise is due him
    now's the time to slip it to him,