Link prims togather question

Shikar

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4643 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello

I'm new at SL so I have a question I read thru the linking prim togather and pretty much understand how to do it. But right now I have seawolf gryphon in biped, I am trig to get ear ring put onto his ears which I can do without linking them. but the ear has a moving animation so the ear rings don't move with the ear. So I tried linking the 2 togather but my ears are )No modify) can I still link the to and if so how

thanks

You can animate a root prim and attach objects to it however, the entire linked set will move or you can make a child prim animate but you cannot animate the prims attached to it.  Only a root prim animation will affect the associated prims and child prims act independently.

As such, people often create smaller linked sets as in houses where you have a rezzer so that doors, windows etc can be added.

Options to make this work are to use animated textures and not animated primps or flex primps.

I I was working on it at lunch time I was able to get the item link to the ear but I lost all the animation from the ear. I lost all the script files in the content folder of the item I link the earing to. the ear now never moves :(. I can;t copy the script files becuase ther " No copy"