Using "boolean" (integer [1|0]) return type in logical operation results in Math Error?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 70 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am trying to use the boolean (which I guess we have to use in ineger types?) return of a function in a logical operation (if A and B)
I'm getting a Math Error now.

The script compiles fine in the editor "pre-flight", the error occurs when trying to run this function.

I'm still new to this SL Script FrankenLanguage, so I'm not sure where the problem is O_o
FWIW, I've tried using 1 and 0 as the return values. It looks like "TRUE" and "FALSE" are just constants representing 1 and 0 respectively, so I wouldn't expect that to be an issue.
Of course I started out trying to use "boolean" as the return type, but that gave me a syntax error.

integer beginsWith(string str, string substr){
    integer ss_length = llStringLength(substr);
    if(llGetSubString(str, 0, ss_length) == substr)
        return TRUE;
    return FALSE;
}

if(ItemType == INVENTORY_SOUND && beginsWith(ItemName, "Radio: ")){}

How do I use a supposed-to-be boolean in a logical operation?

Just now, Love Zhaoying said:

Isn't the only "math error" divide by zero? (Or is that a different message?)

Since zero is one of the return values of the function, that's what I'm thinking too.

I vaguely recall there being other math errors that can happen, but probably not relevant here.

There's a string indexing error in the function, making it return FALSE unless the strings match exactly. That wouldn't cause a math error but dunno.