Any tips on lip sync?

Artorius Constantine

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 324 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I can't get voice to work unless another avatar is near?

Doesn't seem right but I've never used voice before so may just need to learn the tricks.

I set up a couple gestures but that's not right. I don't have enough fingers to do everything at once and still roll camera.

And that just makes random lip movements, I want to puppeteer the mouth.

Am I missing some insight as to making an avatars mouth move? I even tried a couple scripted gadgets but they weren't right.

This is my first attempt at lip sync. Not thrilled.

Edited by Artorius Constantine

Darn, not the reply I wanted. Thanks for it though.

I went digging through the lsl and found a couple things I may be able to work with.

I can't read audio levels with ll but I can set up a sequence and send expressions. Not the best option but it is an option.

Just gotta dig through the mesh heads until I find one I like that I can work with and set up a mouth puppeteer.

You'd think lip synch would be enabled in a virtual world. Maybe I should start a jira for accurate lip synch or at least a script function to read in world audio levels.

• 2 years later...

I know I'm a bit late to the party on this, but I'm hip deep in a video project that requires fairly accurate lip sync.  And seeing how long it's been since this topic was addressed, I'm guessing that a decent solution has not been suggested.

The ONLY time I've ever seen accurate lip sync in Second Life is from videos by the creator of the Black Dragon viewer: 

From what I can tell, his lip sync is nearly dead on.  I'm not sure if it's the Black Dragon viewer itself, the settings in the viewer, the computer he's using, internet connection or just a really powerful graphics card.  I've tried reaching out to him, but he has yet to respond.