What program to use to make avatar accessories ?

atayir

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1502 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm familiar with the program Blender, but I'm not sure how to make accessories like piercings and earrings. Would I need avastar to rig stuff like rings to fingers? I'm not sure what rig and non-rig means. I'm still very new to blender. Thanks for the help. Sorry if this isn't the correct subject forum to post in.

Edited by atayir
adding

Read all of this with the understanding that I completely suck at rigging :)

unrigged: No weights painted on the vertices in blender, any avatar accessory functions just like the older prim-based ones - stick it to an attachment point, position and size to fit, it then follows the attachment point.

rigged: Vertices weighted to the SL skeleton. No matter where you attach it, it takes its position from the skeleton and cannot be resized (because the skeleton dictates where every vertex ends up, no matter what "size" the unattached object is). As the avatar moves, the individual vertices follow the movement of the bone(s) they are weighted to.

So to use your example of a ring:
Unrigged it would be able to be sized to fit any hand or be worn on any finger, but it would only be suitable for a non-bento hand as it would not follow the finger bones as they animate. Rigged, you'd have to size it and position it to fit the hand model it was to be worn on in blender, not inworld, but the weighting would be easy - every vertex would be 100% weighted to a single finger bone so the ring would follow that bone without distortion.

Most ear-rings you wouldn't need to rig - the ears have attachment points and they track pretty well. (human avs, that is..  when you get into non-human ears all bets are off)