Help with textures, PLEASE!

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2576 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm just starting to learn Photoshop, which is not easy to learn, but texturing seems even harder.

Im trying to find a tutorial to work on a Premade mesh, lets say this Keyhole is the Alpha layer I need to make a border/edge inside, 

cause that's my problem and sounds stupid, but I don't know how to make it.

Key 1 would be the image and the Key2 is the red inner border I would like to add the the alpha.

I made it manually just for the example,please don't laugh. 

I will really appreciate anything on how to do this "red border" in the white alpha, not sure you see the transparency of the keyhole

in this case.

key.jpg

alpha.png

There are lots of ways.  Try:

1. Create a new layer Under the one that you have your Key1 image on.

2. Make the Key1 layer active and Select Pixels

3. Select >>> Modify >>> 5 Pixels (or whatever looks right to you)

4. Make the new layer active.

5. Select >>> Inverse

6. Edit >>> Fill >>> Foreground Color  (assuming that you have a foreground color that's something other than black or white)

You should now have a new image like Key1 but smaller on the new layer, so:

7. Use your eraser to remove bits of the new image on the right side of the keyhole, leaving only the part that's red in your illustration here.

That's it. Because your new layer is under the Key1 layer, the only part that will show is the sliver that you illustrated in red here.

Rolig, thank you so much!

Now if the background is transparent instead of black?

And I have the keyhole image in white, need to delete the white, and make it alpha?

I first select the "white keyhole" and your steps 1-2-3-4 and after that?