Don't Understand system layers

BabyBadEnough

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3143 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have a mesh avatar - new one

I recently purchased a pair of awesome Jeans. no where on description did it saysystem layers.

I don't really understand how to make the jeans show up

scripts are enabled. however only the pockets on back of jeans show.

the rest are on the shins of the avatar.

I am new to Sl and am still learning. any insight inot how to use them - systems layers

would be greatly appreciated

systemlayers won't work with mesh avatars, if you wear a LL starter avatar you are stuck with the clothes you wear now.

If you want to  change your look you will have to buy/find everything new, including body/shape, skins and clothes.

If you aleady have a developed mesh avatar from another resident/shop you can look for clothes and skins everywhere. Lot of stores will have fitting clothes and/or appliers for it. ( logo's on the adds)

There are two basic types of avatars in Second Life:

1. The original "Classic style" avatars. They modify a default "System body" with these parts:

First are these required parts which can not be removed, but can be replaced with different ones: Shape (includes gender), skin, eyes, eyebrow shaper-hair base.

Then add on these optional parts, which can be removed entirely: System layer clothing (many layers, many types), tatoo makeup, shoes, wig, mesh or flexi attachments (non-system layer clothing made for standard avatars). 

2. Mesh avatars. These are a kind of flexable whole body shell that is worn over a default system avatar. The default system avatar is usually made invisible by wearing a whole boday alpha (so it won't show through the mesh shell). Mesh avatars require clothing specifically made for that particular mesh avatar.