How to edit rigged clothing items (textures, colors, etc.)?

rraspberry

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3615 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am new to editing clothing items, so I don't know a lot of the official terms for stuff... basically I have bought the following items from the marketplace: https://marketplace.secondlife.com/p/Full-Perm-Rigged-Boatneck-Cropped-Sweater-Fashion-Kit/4180743 and https://marketplace.secondlife.com/p/Full-Perm-Rigged-Mesh-Bustier/4981055. I am totally lost on how to edit the colors and textures of these items. For example, for the second item I listed, how would I change the color to a solid color while keeping the lace trims? I would just like to know the basics of creating/using textures that I can apply to these items and customizing colors.

If this question requires a more complicated answer, are there any tutorials for getting started?

Thanks for your help!

2 answers to this question

Any mesh item may have up to eight textureable "faces" in SL.  A "face" in this context is simply an area on the item that shares a single texture and color attribute.  It may comprise a single contiguous area or many separate ones so that, for example, the trim around a collar and on cuffs might both be on a single "face".  The person who made the mesh model decided how to identify the faces and created the UV map that determines how textures will actually be applied to them.  You have no control over either one -- they are given.