Stand alone SecondLife?

Petrigeo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3772 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

I am new in using SecondLife.

I wonder if SecondLife could be used stand alone, i.e. installing an own server and using a SecondLife instance for a dedicated virtual world. If tha is possible, what could the condition concerning licensing etc. The project is non profit.

Thank you!

George

Petrigeo wrote:

Hi,

I am new in using SecondLife.

I wonder if SecondLife could be used stand alone, i.e. installing an own server and using a SecondLife instance for a dedicated virtual world. If tha is possible, what could the condition concerning licensing etc. The project is non profit.

Thank you!

George

What you are basically describing is "OpenSim", which is a stand-alone system that emulates a somewhat older version of Second Life. There are no licensing fees for it. Objects, etc. that are currently used in Second Life can't be directly used in OpenSim unless the makers of those objects have specifically ported them over but there's a fair amount of content that you can find that will work. Doing a search for OpenSim should give you lots of information.

The other answers are correct. I'll expand on them a bit.

There once was an Enterprise version of SL. It was the propretary version of the SL server side. It could be set up to allow businesses to run their own worlds internal to their companies. Some did as it allows for better instruction and training for some tasks. AFAIK, that package is no longer available. It was exspensive. But, contact the Lab to see what they may be to offer along that line.

OpenSim is an open source server side program built to duplicate the API's and functionality of Second Life servers. From an operational point of view it is not the same as SL. But, from a users viewpoint it is VERY similar.