Possible to parent a mesh to armature without it getting deformed?

RayRobert

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3798 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I am very very new to mesh. I am trying rigging out. The method I used is laid out here  http://www.sluniverse.com/php/vb/tutorials/80156-rigging-models-blender-2-64-a.html

When I right click the mesh, right click the armature. Use ctrl + P to parent them with armature deform the mesh kind of deforms a bit. It kind of sticks to the armature. So say my mesh has shoulder pads, the should pads kind of slump down onto the armature. Is there a way to make it so when I parent the mesh,it leaves the mesh as is and just moves with the armature like that?

I suggest you go over to Machinimatrix.com and look through the tutorials there.

Mesh does not currently deform in SL. It will follow the avatar and animate. But, when you change avatar shape the attached mesh does not deform to follow shape changes.

Fitted Mesh is an  in-beta-way to have rigged mesh deform to follow shape change. We expect to see that come into current use in the first half of 2014.

• Like 1

RayRobert wrote:

So I am very very new to mesh. I am trying rigging out. The method I used is laid out here 

When I right click the mesh, right click the armature. Use ctrl + P to parent them with armature deform the mesh kind of deforms a bit. It kind of sticks to the armature. So say my mesh has shoulder pads, the should pads kind of slump down onto the armature. Is there a way to make it so when I parent the mesh,it leaves the mesh as is and just moves with the armature like that?