MachiniCam 2 screen recording software

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3942 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello Folks,

I am developing a windows program to record the screen for machinima, It is called MachiniCam 2. I am looking for beta testers. If you are interested please go to MachiniCam and download the file.

There are a couple of short videos to show how it works. It is really simple.

On the title bar of the application there is a link that says ‘Feedback’. When you click on it you will go to a page where you can tell me how you got on. Or you can just IM me in world.

I hope you like it.

Ohjiro Watanabe

Thanks for your feedback Chic; you make some fair points.

I am an independent programmer from the UK with an interest in machinima. My rl name is Tim Payne and I am using the name A to B Software to trade under. I have been in SL for nearly 6 years.

Why do I have a URL like www.atob.ws (or even atob.ws)? I just liked it because it was short. I got it from here: website.ws. The web site is actually located in the UK and not Western Samoa (but I can dream can't I?).

When I first had a go at making my own machinima I looked around for programs to used. There were a few things that I noticed such as:

Lack of flexibility
Confusing so that it is not immediately obvious how to start recording.
Irrelevant options/features
Emphasis on chrome instead of usability
No preview image
Buttons with odd icons that I didn't understand
Poor quality output
Restricted file size

Of course there is a range of different screen recording programs and the above points may not apply to all of them. You may have your favorite that you are used to and wouldn't consider changing.

I decided that I could put my skills to use to make an application that was specifically aimed at machinima. I designed the interface to make it as simple as possible to start recording with the minimum number of mouse clicks.