Two Questions on LSL & Mesh

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3977 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi All,

I have been writing LSL for a few years now and feel that I am pretty comforatble in it, but recently have come across an area that I am a bit lost in. I know how to deal with normal prims in LSL but have recently begun using mesh and there are a few things I would like to understand how to to in LSL. Specifically I'd like to:

1) Understand what face of a Mesh was touched by an Avatar .. to be able to know what side of a door was touched.

2) Change the textures on the different mesh faces

Thanks in advance!

As far as LSL is concerned, a face is a face.  It doesn't know whether your object is mesh or not (actually, ALL objects are mesh anyway).  If you identify faces when you are creating the mesh object in Blender, your LSL script will recognize them.

Mesh is the same as a prim in this regard. llDetectedTouchFace(0) will return the face number as usual. Though, how many faces a mesh will have (maximum 8 faces) depends on how many materials/faces the creator has assigned to the mesh. So a mesh door can have only 1 face, or a mesh door can have up to 8 faces.

Changing textures works the same as with any other prim as well.

Thanks for the answers .. guess I should have checked in code first. Sadly though this means that the functionality that I had before in the code, before I turned the door to Mesh will not longer work. Before, depending on the side if the door you touched it would swing one way or the other. Now though since the the Mesh was made with Mesh Studio, and the textures are the same, the face is the same as well <sigh>.

Don't give up hope yet.