Info about HUDs

Spinell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4038 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone, I'm new to the scripting section. I came here to ask some questions about HUDs. I plan to release my first mesh hair for my shop and I wanted to incorporate an HUD or script menu thingy that allowed the buyer to change hair colour. I also plan to release some hair accessories, that have more elaborate parts (let's say 3 textures/faces (?)) and I want to have an HUD that allows me to change the textures, one at the time. For example, let's say the accessory is a ribbon with a bow, both have their own material and an asortment of textures for each. I want to be able, in SL, to click on the mesh, select either "bow" or "ribbon" and then select a texture and it will apply.

I think this is possible in SL, I'm curious about how it works and what I need to prepare.

I don't intend to learn scripting; I was thinking of hiring someone to do this for me or find an easy scripting tool in the marketplace (suggestions are welcomed), I just wanted to know what I need to prepare. Aside from assigning different materials to the parts I want textured, and making the correcponding textures based on the UV maps, what else do I need to provide to the scripter?

Oh yes, I use Blender 2.66 for meshing.

Thank you for the info!

Welcome to LSL Scripting, the forum used to "Discuss scripting tips and techniques with other inworld developers.' If you have a specific question or have encountered a problem with a script you are writing, this is definitely the right forum to come to. 

However, since you are not writing a script and have no intention of ever learning, may I suggest the Wanted or Inworld Employment forums to seek the help you require in meeting your needs.