they can fly over ban lines????

True1

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3469 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am an estate manager an have advised my tenants to set their sim to group access only. they have done this and some have got their land private totaly. so ban lines are up. I also have my land set the same, if people fly 75m up they can fly over the ban lines and into the land,this isnt right i am sure, what is the point in ban lines if people can just fly over them?

6 answers to this question

General ban lines only extend to 75m above the land surface.  That's so that aircraft don't have to keep dodging those idiot lines all the time as they fly across a sim.  Ban lines won't prevent someone from flying over the parcel, but they do prevent anyone landing at ground level.  If a person is actually on the parcel's ban list, however, the ban lines prevent entry at any altitude up to 4096m.

As to the point of ban lines..... I have never been sure.  They are an unsightly annoyance that most people curse at and many private estates forbid. 

• Like 3

From the WIKI:

Maximum "NO ENTRY" ban line height: is for all options 80 meter. Only the option 'Banned Residents' (named) has a 5020 meter ban line high, which is visible up to a high of 800 meter above the terrain mesh.

==============

I'm kind of curious about when they increased those limits. For the longest time the limit for general bans (anything that restricts access other than banning a person explicitly by name) was 50 M above the terrain surface, and a ban explicitly by name was only good to 768 Meters high - which was the old build height limit before they increased it to 4096 Meters. Above those heights, anyone could still enter the parcel.

So yes, setting a parcel to "group access only" won't prohibit strangers from accessing everything in the parcel that is above 80 Meters altitude.