Baking Questions

Spinell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4366 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone, I'm still very new in learning mesh and baking textures has been something I have yet to get functioning properly.

I have made my mesh clothing, rigged it properly and everything's in check, so I want to make the alpha layer so I can import this to SL to test how it looks.

here's the steps I've taken, just to clarify:

1. Select the upper-body of the 3-part avatar, open a UV map window, go into edit mode, select all vertices both in the avatar upper-body as well as in the UV map and save the image.

2. Assign a material with a strong colour to the upper-body

3. Shift-select both the layers with my mesh clothing and the layers with the avatar so I can see them both

4. Select the mesh and the shift-select the upper-body of the 3-part avatar

5. go to render, bake, tick the box "selected to active", select from the dropdown menu "textuires" and press bake.

Unfortunately, the bake image I get in the UV map doesn't correspond with the clothing at all. I have tried every option form the dropdown menu, but none show me the clean UV map that I want to use to make the alpha.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you so much for the help!

I ended up just projection painting from renders. I was using particles and this worked out better for me. Not sure if that helps with what you are doing though and it is a longer process. But I noticed this, baking is a bit...well, not so easy as you would think.