Second Life viewer won't start

LammisNO

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4365 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I'm new to SL. I have done the registration on the website, and downloaded Second Life Viewer on 2 computers in my home (laptop and stationary pc).

I have downloaded Second Life Viewer on both pc's and installed it. That went without any errors.

But when I try to start the game, nothing happens. The game won't start at all. On either computers.

All my drivers are updated, my computers are pretty new (2011/2012).

Anyone who knows what could be the issue?

Strange.  I suppose when you installed the viewer, the installation package put a hand graphic ("Second Life Viewer") on your desktop  and you are cliking on that (not the installation graphic,which is also a hand graphic).    .  And I suppose that literally nothing happens.  

Normally somethin happens with failures -  the program starts and then halts.  To see if the program has started, you can look in Task Manager (Ctrl+Alt+Delete).  Under applications you should see Second Life as running.    

If you can tell us whether SL is running we might be able to give you more help.

TKR

Thanks for your answer Thinkerer Melville :D

No SL is'nt running for sure. Not in task manager or under processes either.

I also tryed to run it as an administrator. No luck.

Added it to my firewall as "alowed" software. No luck.

Disconnected my firewall. Still no luck. (I use F-Secure)

Reinstall of SL. No luck.

I run Win7 Ultimate under 64bit on this computer, but on my laptop I run 32bit (same OS).

The SL version I have installed is SL 331.254524

I really apritiate any help here :) I'm not really a gamer, so gaming issues I know little about.

Sorry for typos and such... I'm Norwegian :)

LammisNO wrote:

Thanks for your answer Thinkerer Melville
:D

No SL is'nt running for sure. Not in task manager or under processes either.