Best system specs

ndocds

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4622 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I dunno if this is the right place but i hope so.

im new to SL and i want to know the best possible specs for a computer? i run 2 viewers at once and i don't want any lag.

Thanks!

btw just the very best and why?

does SL take advantage of SLI?

thanks for the reply!

i know the min requirements but i wanna know what the top dogs are using!

is SLI a big FPS increase?

should i be worried about DX11?

basiclly what i want is my computer not to be a bottleneck. 

CPU: Intel 2600K

Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme

Memory: Corsair Dominator GT CMGTX7 memory (much as you like but 4MB will be fine for SL)

SSD: OCZ Vertex 3

GPU: SL is very poor on SLI or Crossfire support so go for the best single card you can afford. A MSI N580GTX Lightning Extreme should be fairly handy :smileywink:

Obviously you can make a few compromises in that :smileyvery-happy: but as the Intel 2600K is the best processor around at the moment, it would be a good choice if you're buying new. On the GPU side, a MSI N560GTX Twin Frozr II or a Zotac GTX560 AMP! Edition would be a lot cheaper and still great in SL!

I only half want to know what the top dogs are using. If I knew what the Linden people were using (let alone the more geeky and more-money-than-sense "regular" residents), I would undoubtedly fall off my chair in a dead faint. :matte-motes-big-grin-squint::matte-motes-shocked::matte-motes-sick:

Vo.oV

lol Marigold! Well, I hope the recession hasn't hit the North Pole yet if you're wishing for those specs :smileyvery-happy: but ndocds did ask for the best system specs!

I'm not sure what various Lindens use. I think Torley was using a Nvidia 480 GTX GPU last time I heard but he may have upgraded to a 580 by now. I'm sure he'd be happy to tell you if you asked.