Friends and partnering

Started ‎02-24-2011 by
Modified ‎03-27-2012 by

Friends and partnering

Adding someone to your Friends list

There are several ways to add a friend:

  • If you are near the person inworld, just right-click their avatar and select Add Friend.
  • If you are not nearby or if the person is offline, click the People button at the bottom of the Viewer window and select the MY FRIENDS tab. Then click the + button to open a search window and type in your friend's name.

friend1.jpg

When you add a friend, the Add Friend window enables you to enter a custom message. Use this space to explain why you would like to be friends, or to remind the person how you know each other.

Once a friendship offer is accepted, your names appear in each other's MY FRIENDS lists. All friendships are bidirectional, so if you delete a friend, you no longer appear in his or her list.

Of course, for even more friends in Second Life, refer your real-life friends!

How to accept or decline a friendship offer

friendship offer.pngWhen another Resident offers friendship to you, a dialog appears in the lower-right corner of your screen.

 

If you click Accept, your new friend receives onscreen notification that you accepted the friendship offer.

Click Decline to cancel the offer.  The other person receives onscreen notification that you declined the friendship offer.

Video tutorial

This visual aid covers much of the above but was created before we added the ability to send a custom message when offering friendship.

Friendship etiquette

Completing your profile and reading other Residents' profiles provides ample opportunity for conversation. If you get along well, feel free to offer friendship.

For unofficial Resident tips about socializing and making friends, see SLetiquette.

Partnering

Second Life couples can make their relationships official. Whether you're married or just connected, you can designate your partner on your profile inworld and make your relationship visible to the rest of the community.

Note: Creating a partnership costs each partner L$10.

Partnership is a vanity display for social purposes only does not alter inworld permissions, group abilities, support benefits, and so forth. For example, if you are on a Concierge account and your partner is on a basic account, he or she will not receive Concierge service.

Partnering also does not affect your Second Life username. Nor does it entitle you to share their Second Life account; this is against the Terms of Service.  For more information, see Sharing or transferring Second Life accounts.

How to make someone your partner

To make someone your partner, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Partners page.
  2. Enter your Partner's First and Last Name.
  3. Type in your Proposal to your to-be partner. It can be a love letter, song lyrics, or whatever suits the both of you best.
  4. Click Send Proposal.

Your potential partner is notified at the email address linked with their Second Life account. He or she has seven days to accept. Once the proposal is accepted, your names appear in one another's profiles.  

The partnership email should be received in seconds. Please check your spam folder and other email filters to make sure it isn't being hidden.

If you receive a partnership request you wish to decline, you can do so on the Partners page.

How to end a partnership

The person who "divorces" is charged L$25.

Follow this procedure to dissolve a partnership:

  1. Open the Partners page.
  2. Select "I, (your name), would like to dissolve my partnership with (your partner's name)."
  3. Click Submit.
    Your partnership is dissolved and your now-ex-partner is notified.

Once you have dissolved a partnership, you can recreate it by following the procedure previously outlined and paying the L$10 again. 

Partnership history

Your Viewer profile does not show you the date you started your partnership, so keep your original partnership request (sent via email) if you wish to have a record of the date.

Letting friends edit your objects

There are two ways to enable a friend to edit your objects in Second Life. This is often referred to as collaborative building or collaborative creation. It's a useful way to let groups of people collaborate on a building project together.

The method you choose depends on whether your co-collaborator is in a group or whether he or she is your friend.

The group method

To enable a member of a group you are in to edit your objects:

  1. Right-click the object and choose Edit.
    The object editor opens.
  2. Click on the General tab in the editor. If you can't see the tabs, click on More.
  3. Click on the Tool icon to the right of Group and assign the object to the group your friend is in.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Select the checkbox next to Share.

Any other group members will also be able to edit the object. Group members can only edit objects that are shared with the group.

Note: If you want other group members to be able to take copies of your object, make sure you set the next owner permissions (Copy, Modify, Resell/Give away) appropriately.

This video tutorial explains object-related group permissions and friend permissions.

The friend method

To enable a friend to edit your objects:

Profile perms.png

  1. Click People button1.jpg in the toolbar.
    The PEOPLE window opens.
  2. Click MY FRIENDS to open your friends list.
  3. Mouse over your friend's name and click profile icon.png to view your friend's profile.
  4. In the profile page that appears, click edit icon.png and choose Permissions.
  5. Under Allow (friend's name) to:  select Edit, delete or take my objects.
  6. Click Save.
Important: Doing this gives your friend the same rights that you have to edit all of your objects.

A few things to note

There are a few things you should be aware of:

  • Your collaborative partners can only edit objects you've rezzed. Nobody but you will ever have access to your inventory, so if you want someone else to edit an object that you own, you need to rez it inworld first.
  • Your collaborative partners can't edit the next-owner permissions on an object they've been granted access to.
  • It isn't technically possible to link two prims together if they have different owners, even if the owners have given each other edit permissions.
  • Your collaborative partners cannot edit your objects if they have Select Only My Objects enabled in their Tools menu.
Comments
by Senior Helper on ‎03-29-2012 07:35 PM

See the last phrase of the article: "Your collaborative partners cannot edit your objects if they have Select Only My Objects enabled in their Tools menu."

Perhaps it's clearer say "... enabled in their Build > Options menu" (or something similar). Just a thought after reading this question: http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Controls/Where-is-the-Tools-Menu/qaq-p/1460371

Contributors