How well do newer AMD-based video cards work in SL?

Snickers Snook

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4504 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am considering a 6950 or 6770 or similar to replace my old nVidia 9500 GT. A couple of my techie friends are real AMD fans and say that AMD-based cards are better price/performance than nVidia. BUT, I've also been around here long enough to know that many people think nVidia is better for SL than AMD (ATI).

UPDATE: I have a decent PC -- It's an AMD Quad core something with  6gb of RAM on Windows 7 Home Premium. The one lacking thing is the PCIe is 1.1 16x not 2.1. It has a 600 watt power supply.

5 answers to this question

Hi Snickers. I'm not a great techie, but my iMac runs a AMD Radeon HD 6770M and I am more than happy with it. Smoothe and beautiful graphics, great performances and no lag. Of course the 6950 will be even better along with at least 1 Gb memory. I don't know about PCs, but Apple abandoned  nVidia on their lastest machines because of poor performances...

• Like 1

I have an ATI 6950 card and I installed the latest drivers which come with improved OpenGL support which is important for SL. Overall I think the card works very well and SL is fast and very smooth. So I think it is a very solid card, especially for the price.

However, somehow I had expected more. I thought SL would have recommend me the Ultra setting and that I would now get a far better picture quality. That didn't happen. What I would like to know is whether an ATI card with the new drivers is similar or still lagging a good Nvidia card in terms of SL performance (OpenGL).

• Like 1