Throwing objects

Orabelle

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3266 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Is it possible to throw/toss object that are worn? Or something to that extent anyways. I've seen those 'gun' scripts and whatnot that 'fire' copies of inventory objects, but what I'm looking for is something that moves the original. Like, for example you have a ball in hand and you want to toss it a short distance. How would I go about doing that?
Second question - assuming the above is possible, would you be able to start another script the moment said object is thrown? I'm not sure what all is possible. Maybe the first part would detach said object and move it to the world, and that would be the starting factor? I dunno, just a thought. I'm a newbie, help me out. X3

You can't throw a thing you're wearing, as the "detach" operation puts it back into inventory (well, it never really left inventory, but it ceases to exist in-world). And if you could throw an attachment, you'd have to hunt it down to take it back after the throw, or hope that auto return puts it into your lost-and-found folder. That's why throwers rez temporary objects to toss. They vanish after a minute, so there's no housekeeping. If you want to make it look like you've tossed the thing you're holding, you'd make it invisible the moment the toss occurs. Anyone paying close attention would catch the deceit, but it's good enough for most.

By placing a script in the thing being tossed, you effectively start another script at the rezzing/tossing moment. That script is in the tossed thing, of course, and I think that is your intention.

Thanks for your reply. That clears up that.