animated chasing lights

Richard Lacombe

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4555 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone, I would like a few tips on how to create an animated string of lights such as those chasing around a movie marquee. I downloaded Genetica 3.6 and am getting familiar with this program through tutorials and vids but from what I can tell, its going to take a while to master this program. I am a flash developer in RL  and can create the gif using Flash, however, I have no clue if it will work in SL if exported as an animated gif or png. Any recomendations.  The chaser would be 5 gif images in sequence 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5 , (same marquee bg, only lights chase in one direction per image.  If I use Genetica, It can be done as a seamless animated  texture which I can repeat as many times as needed along the obect.(s)

Thanks.!

-Richard Lacombe

P.S.   I would even take an inworld class if there was one on this subject.

Five textures loaded into the contents tab of the object and a script similar to the one below would accomplish what you describe.

--Cinn

integer choice=0;

{
    state_entry()
    {

llSetTimerEvent(0.5);
    }

on_rez(integer num)
    {
        llSetTexture("fe8da76a-4ccb-af42-60d5-2347b3c6e7f2", ALL_SIDES);
    }

timer()
    {
        integer number = llGetInventoryNumber(INVENTORY_TEXTURE);
        choice = choice + 1;
        if (choice == number) choice = 0;
        string name = llGetInventoryName(INVENTORY_TEXTURE, choice);
        llSetTexture(name, ALL_SIDES);
    }
}

• Like 2