Simplicity is key

Loki Eliot

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4137 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

evil_worms_instructions-compressed.jpgI mentioned in another topic that an old game called Dizzy has inspired how i chose to make my games. that inspiration was to keep things 'SIMPLE'.

Im not really a coder, i can't see code well, its all just random words to me. Im learning what order they are in works, but i still don't really understand WHY they work in that order. Because of this i try to keep the game mechanic as simple as possible.

Things like 'Give objects' that when rezzed next to another object "makes stuff happen".

When 'object hit' object then 'disappears'  this is as simple as it gets i think in SL.

If the scripting gets too complicated then there is more chance that something will go wrong that i can't fix. Not to mention the impact of bad lag Weather.

Simplicity isn't just about scripting mechanics, it can also be applied to ease of use for the users. During my Zombie Massacre game it became apparent that the game was perhaps to difficult to get into and understand what to do from the start. While discussing with my friend we realised there were aspects of designing websites that could be applied to how users explore virtual worlds. 

The language barrier is also something that can be overcome by simplicity. Using universal icons to signify common tasks can reduce the need for multiple language translations.

I believe now that how i displayed the rules was to much information to take in and people would get bored very quickly.

My rule now is to keep game mechanics as simple as possible and let the story be the complex part.

You are right Loki. But there is where compromises come into weight as well.

They allways do.