SOLVED: Skin change works for human but not furry, please help!

catlechat

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4665 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, 

a total newbie here. I picked a cat avatar, but I want to change the color  from the standard ginger to gray or black. I followed the procedure from some manual - edit outfit, select skin, choose a texture for head, upper and lower tattoos (picked a texture from my textures folder, there's a lot of stuff there, guess it was provided by default, for the moment I don't care that it doesn't resemble fur, just want to get started with editing). Also upped pigmentation for a good measure (which I suppose didn't work, I don't see any change in the edit menu when I do it). But there was no effect.

To be sure, did the same procedure with a human avatar (student), and it worked, the changes could be seen right away even before saving.

Is there something special about skins for furries? Do I have to create the whole avatar from scratch?

Thanks in advance!

[edit] here are screenshots of the edit menu just in case: 

http://img834.imageshack.us/img834/2785/skinej.jpg

http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/2106/skin1.jpg 

It depends on the avatar. Many animal avatars like this one hide all of the skin with prims, so the skin is irrelevant. I notice that av has an alpha layer, which probably makes the entire avatar skin invisible. Probably the only reason the av includes a skin at all is because you have to wear a skin .The way avs are built, you are always wearing at least skin, eyes, 'system hair' (as opposed to hair made of prims) and a shape.

If you wanted to change the appearence of that kind of avatar, you'd have to edit the surface texture of the prims that make up the body parts - the pieces that are worn like "Cat_Abdomen" & "Cat_Chest".