Wind Direction

Rich Reynaud

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2781 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

LSL newbie here, though I have some experience with other languages.

I have an object that points in the direction that the wind is blowing TO by using the following line:

llLookAt(llGetPos()+llWind(ZERO_VECTOR),1,1);

I actually need to point the object in the direction that the wind is blowing FROM. Can anyone assist?

Regards,

Rich

We had this discussion here not long ago, when I was trying to keep my wind vane from flipping upside down.  Here's a wind vane script that works.

default{    state_entry()    {        llSetTimerEvent(1.0);    }    timer()    {        vector wind = llWind(ZERO_VECTOR);        llSetRot(llEuler2Rot(<0.0, 0.0, llAtan2(wind.y, wind.x)>));    }}

If you want to point the end of the vane in the opposite direction, just reverse the arithmetic sign on the Z element in that vector.

Thanks Rolig. I was just reading that thread and tried the various scripts that were mentioned. The problem is that my object is already rotated on another axis and those scripts were causing the object to rotate in an unexpected manner.

In reading another post on rotation I found an easy way to do it. I simply multiplied by negative one to reverse the direction:

llLookAt(llGetPos()+llWind(ZERO_VECTOR)*-1,1,1);

I appreciate your response though.

Regards,

Rich

• 2 years later...

This nice script to put in a prim, with a touch will output wind speed.

What change would be needed to output the wind direction?

Wolf.

=====================================================

{

state_entry()

{

llSay(0, "Touch me for current sl wind speed.");

}

touch_start(integer total_number)

{

vector wind = llWind(<0,0,0>);

llSay(0,"Wind speed: " + (string)llVecMag(wind) + " m/s");

}

}

• 1 year later...
  • 1 year later...