Avi makeover after absence from SL - Need BOM assistance

SandraWillow

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 489 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I returned to SL this week and have decided it is time for an avi makeover.  I have the Maitreya body already, so I just went to get the updated version.  I never got deep into mesh heads before I left.  I had an LAQ mesh head that was easy to set up.  I picked up the free gift and several demo heads from Lelutka to try on.  I am needing like some good videos or articles about using BOM, mesh heads, new skins, etc.  I am a total newbie to how to best utilize BOM and mesh heads.  Thanks in advance for your suggestions.  

If you were in SL pre-2012 then not much has changed, except for the labels.

Mesh bodies are attachments. The more recent bodies have a button in their HUD to enable BOM, Bakes On Mesh, which is like the old server side baking, SSB. The actual change is removal of the limit that baking (SSB) could only be used with the avatar. More later...

Originally skin, tats, underwear, etc were worn by the avatar as System Layers. SSB composited all those layers into one greatly reducing the texture load the viewer had to handle and the system had to send to everyone.