Can't link more than 256 object

ReinaLexigle

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 504 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello to all

I'm facing a problem and i hope to find a solution to it ,I'm a hair designer and i need to builds my hud who contain more than 400 textures,so i have to build my hud with more than 400 prims,when i link them i'm getting this message " Can't link more than 256 object"

So how its possible that other hair designers has huds more bigger than mine?

how can i solve this problem?

Any suggestions will be appreciated..thank you

I've never had hair that came with more than 180-ish color options per HUD. I've never even heard of hair that has more than that many color options.

One solution would be to group textures by similarity, like blondes, browns, monochrome, etc., and make HUDs for each group. If you want to give them all of the options in one go, just include all of the HUDs (being able to call it a mega-fatpack probably helps sales also).

In fact, most of the big hair purchases I've made came packaged this way, with a roots HUD, a solid colors HUD, blondes, browns, reds, etc.

Why make it harder on yourself than it has to be? Just break it up into 3 or 4 HUDs. It would also spare some users that annoying message that tells them their HUD is using too many textures, etc., and telling them it will affect their complexity.

Edited by PheebyKatz
  • Like 1

11 minutes ago, PheebyKatz said:

I've never had hair that came with more than 180-ish color options per HUD. I've never even heard of hair that has more than that many color options.

One solution would be to group textures by similarity, like blondes, browns, monochrome, etc., and make HUDs for each group. If you want to give them all of the options in one go, just include all of the HUDs (being able to call it a mega-fatpack probably helps sales also).