Adding inventory to a prim box for storage

Chey Darkfire

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 513 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

While I've been in SL for over 12 years, there are certain subjects where I am a total noob.  I've been told by friends to make a box to put extra inventory items in to organize the inventory better.  I've known this is possible but I need help.  So, I have a box, but what do I do now?  Again, total noob to this.  TIA

6 answers to this question

LittleMe is right...but your friends are wrong.

You don't have to box things up to "organize your inventory better". All you need to do is to organize your folders better. For example, instead of putting all your clothes in the Clothing folder, make sub-folders inside the Clothing folder. You might have folders for Lingerie, Accessories, Dresses, Pants, Tops, Shoes and Jewelry. And those folders can have sub-folders too. In Dresses, you might have folders for Casual Dresses, Dressy Dresses, Cocktail Dresses, Clubbing Dresses, and Formal Gowns. Don't stop there! Within those folders, there are all kinds of ways to organize further...by season perhaps, or color, or the designer, or the dates you bought them.

I used clothing for my examples, but you can apply this to everything. In your Objects folder, have sub-folders for Buildings, Weapons, Furniture, Landscaping, Vehicles, Food and Drink, Musical Instruments, and whatever other categories you can come up with. In Vehicles, for example, make sub-folders for Land Vehicles, Boats, and Aircraft. And so on!