Problem with my physics model

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 832 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm quite new to building things, so this might be obvious, but...

I've started building very simple building skeletons on Blender and importing them to SL. One of the first things I learnt was that I need to have physics in order to be able to walk inside the building. Since my structures are very simple, I initially used the SL-generated physics. However, I've build a slightly more complex model:

https://gyazo.com/deafbf44894de00978ff838b5f516299

Since the stairs have a lot of detail (they're a model downloaded from sketchfab), SL complains about "mesh too dense", so I tried creating this physics model:

https://gyazo.com/49e07907cd36d60f1008136326eeba21

Now, the preview seems to tell me everything's gonna be alright:

https://gyazo.com/c168cadc426f62e2427221f9d8b3fdaf

but once I upload it and rez it, the physics I see inworld is wrong:

https://gyazo.com/f0582bf7642791d2993669075790b35e

Just a solid cube! Also, there's no option in Edit > Features > Physics Shape Type to select "Prim". I get the same result whether I analyse the physics model or not when uploading.

What can I be doing wrong?

2 hours ago, FastTortillaJuice said:

What can I be doing wrong?

You need to edit the mesh and change physics type from convex hull to prim after you've uploaded. This seems a bit awkward but it's actually an important safety measure against meshes that turn out to have way too complex physics.

There are a couple of other issues with your mesh and physics too and we can discuss them if you want to learn more about SL building but changing the physics type after uplaoding is th only really serious one.

Edited by ChinRey
  • Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, ChinRey said: