Getting Second Look in Second Life

GretaFantome

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1369 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a relative newbie.  I'm still confused about files, configs, etc.

I have a Maitreya Lara body that after some trial and error I have a look am reasonably happy with for my every day look.

Now I want to try something more experimental for special occasions.  This would be a new head, different skin applier, different shape settings.  Everyday body is set up as BOM, experimental would be using Omega.

My paralyzing fear is that I will make these changes and then not be able to restore back to my everyday look.

Do I copy the body? HUD? etc. to a different folder?  Rename them?  How would I do this so that I can have two (or more) looks that share the same body?

@GretaFantome Once you have your look, you can save it as an Outfit. And for each different look, save as a new Outfit. See the below thread on how to do this. You can include your skin applier as well to help you remember which one you used, or include its name when naming your outfit.

An alternative is you can write up a list in a notecard for each look, sort of like a style card.

The only thing you need to save a copy of for each look is your Shape (and eyebrow shape if you make changes). Changing your look doesn't change the mesh parts so you don't need to save multiple copies of the mesh body, head, HUD, etc.

14 minutes ago, GretaFantome said:

I'm a relative newbie.  I'm still confused about files, configs, etc.

I have a Maitreya Lara body that after some trial and error I have a look am reasonably happy with for my every day look.

Now I want to try something more experimental for special occasions.  This would be a new head, different skin applier, different shape settings.  Everyday body is set up as BOM, experimental would be using Omega.