Fitted mesh problem

MilaChristensen

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1737 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello to everyone

I have two problems and I hope to find a solution for them
I am new to rigging and I face two problems  in fitted mesh as follows:

i1.thumb.png.1567f996fc1c86ad55f9726072196a52.png

the first problem shown in this  picture , the hair is of my design in the picture  2 shown in my ad the hair is normal a bit long but  in the picture 1 appears very short in length
of course the shapes are different and i'm not expecting  a big similarity but there is a large difference between them.

I'm using mayastar for rigging and my setting are :

bind method:closet distance

skinning method:classic linear

normalize weight:post

max influence:8

Dropoff rate :5

the second problem is follow:

i2.thumb.png.5413fb40cdf65ed1a142663ae22ff036.png

The second problem is similar to the first but somewhat strange

the hair in picture 4 appear different from the image in maya ,when i try others hairs from others creators with the same shape they have no problem, but i have

in your opinion why i have that difference?

any advice will be appreciated ..thank you so much

Edited by MilaChristensen

3 hours ago, MilaChristensen said:

I'm using mayastar for rigging and my setting are :

bind method:closet distance

skinning method:classic linear

normalize weight:post

max influence:8

Dropoff rate :5

All settings are good, except for the Max Influences: SL caps them to max 4, so there-s no point in having them higher than that. Deformations results would be biased by the capping once uploaded, also.

About the discrepancies:

Case 1 is most likely due to the automatic capping to 4 influences, therefore having some weights removed might just give out that result.

Case 2 instead seems normal to me.Screenshot_1.png.150be26e9573a3c88be3654a1ef3b937.png