A different kind of tipjar

TPGFred

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2492 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all,

I have this idea and was hoping you could perhaps help.

What I'd like to create is essentially a tipjar anyone can donate money to. But what I want it to do is on a set interval, pay out the cash content randomly amongst the nearby people. I'm assuming this could be achieved by combining a coupe of rather simple scripts but I'm really new to scripting so don't know where to start.

A bonus feature that would make it even better, is if the random selection could be done only within a specified audience so for example a sign-up through a dialog box when clicking or similar.

So I could for example have individuals X, Y and Z in the room. All can donate. But only Y and Z have signed up for the random draw so only they can "win", not X.

Is this doable? Reasonably simple?

Appreciate any help! Thanks!

It's certainly doable, but it's a violation of the TOS.  Read the Gambling Policy: "It is a violation of this policy to wager in games in the Second Life® environment operated on Linden Lab servers if such games:

1. Rely on chance or random number generation to determine a winner,
    OR
  2. Rely on the outcome of real-life organized sporting events,

AND provide a payout in

1. Linden Dollars (L$)
    OR
  2. Any real-world currency or thing of value."

Yeah, you can have random-prize sploders and stuff, but if they have to pay in for a chance at a prize, it counts as gambling, unfortunately...

I've seen people all throw in donations towards a prize for a contest, but a lot of them weren't participating in the contest itself, so it wasn't really like a raffle or drawing or anything, just people helping to provide the prizes for the winners. And that was all in the context of a non-profit party, for fun.