development and beta viewers are CPU killers

Jonna Korhonen

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4653 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

Has anyone else noticed the development and beta viewers are CPU killers? I can run two instances of the current LL viewer (2-6-1-225680) with relative ease. Running two of the beta (2-6-3-225685) or two of the development (2-6-4-226210) pushes my CPU to 100% immediately and both grind to a halt. I'm new to using beta and development viewers, is this just they way they are or should this be a concern?

Second Life 2.6.4 (226210) Apr  9 2011 21:23:23 (Second Life Development)
Release Notes

You are at 257,617.0, 195,598.0, 72.2 in Cuervo located at sim20107.agni.lindenlab.com (216.82.26.120:13005)
Second Life Server 11.03.29.225234
Release Notes

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU         750  @ 2.67GHz (2660.01 MHz)
Memory: 4088 MB
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)
Graphics Card Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 260/PCI/SSE2

Windows Graphics Driver Version: 8.17.0012.6658
OpenGL Version: 3.3.0

libcurl Version: libcurl/7.21.1 OpenSSL/0.9.8q zlib/1.2.5 c-ares/1.7.1
J2C Decoder Version: KDU v6.4.1
Audio Driver Version: FMOD version 3.750000
Qt Webkit Version: 4.7.1 (version number hard-coded)
Voice Server Version: Not Connected
Built with MSVC version 1600
Packets Lost: 3/6,628 (0.0%)

They -are- CPU killers and a big steaming pile.
I'm on Linux, AMD Athlon II X2 CPU, 4 gigs memory, ATI Radeon HD4200...
Yet when I run just one instance of the current LL viewer, it will barely get past the log-in screen before it trashes my system.
So, no more LL viewer for me, hello third-party alternatives that do the job just fine.